May 11, 2023 Annual Meeting & Awards Dinner, Newark, NJ

462nd  Meeting of the Society of Flavor Chemists, Inc.

Thursday May 11th 2023

Newark, NJ

4pm-9pm EST

Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

1 Hotel Road, Newark, NJ 07114


Schedule of Events

8:00 – 10:00 am         SFC Board of Directors Meeting

10:00 – 11:45 pm        SFC Board and Committee Chairs Meeting

9:00 – 4:00 pm          Chemical Sources Association Roundtable   –  Separate registration required.  Buffet lunch included.  Interactive sensory sessions and demonstrations by 26 vendors to the Flavor and Fragrance industries.  Visit for additional information and registration details

 3:00 – 5:00 pm          SFC Meeting and Dinner Registration

4:00 – 5:00 pm              SFC Business Meeting (members only) – In person and via Zoom

Election of Officers for 2023-2024

Chairperson – Cathianne Leonardi

President – Bill Aslanides

Vice President – Justin Kozlowski

Secretary – Scott Michaluk (2nd  Term)

Treasurer – Marissa Pasky (1st  Term)


5:00 – 6:00 pm              Cocktail Reception for guests registered for dinner

6:00 – 8:00 pm              Dinner

7:00 – 7:30 pm              Presentation by 2023 Jogue Scholarship Award Recipient

Arda Tuhanioglu from University of Arkansas

Arda is a current PhD student at the University of Arkansas and has a background in both engineering and food science. Arda’s application highlighted a very successful education and research background with many publications, awards and grants. His letter of recommendation highlighted both his impressive resume, but also his dedication to inspire students towards STEM and food science. In his current research, Arda has developed a novel, food-grade approach of using supercritical carbon dioxide (SC-CO2) to prepare sorghum flour as a more palatable ingredient to be utilized more successfully in the food industry without damaging the physical characteristics of the sorghum flour. Further research will be conducted to test sensory attributes of the purified flour in a sorghum cookie. Arda’s career goals include integrating green and sustainable technologies into the food industry and bridging the gap between contemporary advances in food science and the food industry.  

7:30 – 7:45 pm              Presentation of Awards

          • 25 year award Recipients
            • Richard Bobula
            • David Bratton
            • Cindy Cosmos
            • Joseph Di Benedetto
            • Leslie Fisher
            • Linda Gleason
            • Thuy Huynh
            • David Maurer
            • Terrence Miesle
            • Javier Perez Baez
            • James Rutz
            • Dianne Sansone
            • Mary Svoboda
            • Michael Walsh
            • Chris Williams
          • 50-yr Award Recipients
            • Joseph Cipriano
            • Nicholas Feuerstein
            • Richard F. Heinze
            • Remi Begonia Mendoza
            • Carole Pollock

7:45 – 8:00 pm              Presentation of Golden Blotter Award to Richard  Heinze

8:00  pm                           Closing Remarks by the President



Meeting Registration: Online registration open now.

Please go to the Eventbrite Link to register.
$100.00 Member / Non-member
$50.00 Retired/Emeritus/Student w/ID
Deadline for online registration is May 5th , 2023.

To attend this meeting virtually click the link below to register
and attend the meeting on May 11 th at 4pm.
May Zoom Business meeting link

May Zoom Presenter and Awards presentation 7-8pm

Meeting/Hotel: Newark Liberty International Airport Marriott

Newark Marriot Link
1 Hotel Road, Newark, NJ 07114
Call for reservations – T: 973-623-0006